This shrine is a massha (subordinate shrine) of Shiba Tōshō-gu and is 100 m or so away from its parent. As with Yukigaya-Ōtsuka Inari Jinja it is built on a kofun and there is more information available on the kofun than on the shrine itself. The kofun, Shibamaruyama by name, and by extension the shrine, is situated to the inauspicious southwest quarter (Ura-kimon,裏鬼門) of both the Tokugawa family temple, Zōji-ji, and Edo Castle.
In 1598, along with the expansion of Edo Castle, Zōji-ji was being moved from Kuwano to its current location on
the instructions of Tokugawa Ieyasu. The temple’s main
(Note: numbers in parentheses after kami names
refer to position in How Many Kami table)
From Merged Shrines
object of worship was an image of Amidanyorai and on its way to Edo it was guarded by a group of "kami warrior guardians" (随身, zuijin). En route Inari-Ōkami appeared to add his protection for the final stretch to Edo, and it is from the combination of the two kanji for zuijin and the kami’s name that the name of the shrine is probably derived.
About 200 m from the #1 exit of Shibakōen Station. Picturesque is a fair way to describe the shrine and its rural setting in the midst of Tōkyō. The Shibamaruyama Kofun itself was one of several in the area but the others have all disappeared over the centuries since it was built in the fifth century.